New Scotland BTPA member appointed

The Secretary of State for Transport has appointed Iain Whyte as the new British Transport Police Authority (BTPA) Member for Scotland.

Iain, from Edinburgh, currently sits on the City of Edinburgh Council and has previously served as a board member for the Scottish Police Authority (SPA) and NHS Lothian.

As the BTPA member for Scotland, Iain will chair the Scottish Railways Policing Committee (SRPC), which is a sub-committee of the BTPA upon which serve two co-opted members of the SPA. The Committee provides a sharper focus on railway policing and BTP operations in Scotland, in particular joint working and collaboration between the BTP and Police Scotland.

BTPA Chair Ron Barclay-Smith said: “I am delighted that DfT has appointed Iain as an Authority Member. He has substantial experience of decision making and oversight on Public Sector boards, as well as detailed knowledge of police governance in Scotland. He will be an asset to the BTPA membership, and we look forward to working with him.”

Iain said: “I am excited to work with colleagues across BTP, Scottish policing and the rail industry in Scotland to ensure that the British Transport Police are meeting the needs and reflecting the priorities of those who travel and work on the network in Scotland.”

There are now 11 Members of the BTPA, the independent oversight body responsible for ensuring an efficient and effective police force. The Authority is made up of a Chair, Deputy Chair, and Authority Members, supported by an executive team who manage finance, strategy, governance, performance and secretariat along with holding the Chief Constable to account.

BTPA is responsible for Chief Officer appointments, setting the budget and charging the costs of railway policing out to the rail industry and service users. BTPA ensures that industry priorities are reflected in the operational planning and service delivery of BTP and coordinates misconduct hearings and complaint reviews.