Department announces new member

Transport Minister Theresa Villiers announced today the appointment of Elizabeth France CBE to the British Transport Police Authority, and the reappointments of Jeroen Weimar and Lew Adams OBE. All three appointments are for four years from 1 July 2010.Also reappointed is Robin Gisby. He will remain with the Authority for a further twelve months, at which point an open competition will be held for another member.

Theresa Villiers said: “I am pleased to welcome Elizabeth France to the Authority and that Jeroen Weimar, Lew Adams and Robin Gisby have all agreed to serve further terms. The Authority has a vital role to play in helping the British Transport Police to deliver the excellent service it provides to all those who work and travel on the railway. I am grateful to all those whose appointments I am announcing today for their contribution to that process.”

The British Transport Police Authority was established on 1 July 2004. Its role is to enhance the status and public accountability of the British Transport Police and to maintain and oversee an effective police force for the railways.

For more information contact

Department for Transport
Press Enquiries: 020 7944 3108
Out of Hours: 020 7944 4292
Public Enquiries: 0300 330 3000
Department for Transport Website:

About the BTPA

BTPA is an independent body of that oversees the British Transport Police. It is composed of 15 members who represent the rail operators and passengers. It maintains the force’s budget, allocates resources and makes senior appointments to the force. For more information, visit

British Transport Police is the specialist, national police service for Britain’s railways. It deals with major and minor crime, disorder and incidents, and covers the rail system in England, Wales and Scotland. Its police officers, Police Community Support Officers, Special Constables and support staff are recruited and trained like those of local forces and have the same powers.