BTPA appoints five new Authority Members

The British Transport Police Authority (BTPA) have today announced five new Authority Members, who will provide financial and performance oversight for the British Transport Police.

Dyan Perry rejoins BTPA as Deputy Chair and was the CEO of HS1 Ltd, a post she held for over six years. She is currently Chair of The National Skills Academy for Rail and she is a Non-Executive Director (NED) for East West Railway, the TransPennine Route Upgrade and a Board member for the Australian High Speed Rail Authority.

Brian Lynch is currently Head of Operations for the Elizabeth Line at Transport for London, having previously spent 10 years in various roles at Network Rail.

Paula Carter is Chair of the OfCom Advisory Committee for England, having previously worked at a senior level for multiple British Television Companies. Paula currently holds non-executive director (NED) roles at the Port of London Authority and the Rugby Football Union.

Abdul Elghedafi is a solicitor working in the public sector specialising in contracts, public sector procurement law and data protection law. He has extensive experience as an NED where he sat on the Boards of a further education college and the NHS in Scotland. He currently serves as a NED with the British Dietetic Association.

Tricia Hayes worked in the civil service for 36 years and has extensive, senior experience within Government, including within the Home Office as Second Permanent Secretary and the Department for Transport. She is currently Chair Designate of London TravelWatch and a Board Member at Transport Focus.

Chair of the BTPA, Ron Barclay-Smith, said: “I am delighted to have such highly-skilled, experienced colleagues join the BTP Authority. Each of the new Members and Deputy Chair will bring unique and individual knowledge to our organisation, representing the unique and individual groups served by the BTP.

“I look forward to working with all five of them in the future and hope we can achieve some great results ensuring the safety and security of the rail network and the public.

“I’d also like to take this opportunity to thank Andy Cooper for his tenure and support as temporary Deputy Chair since December 2020. Andy filled an imperative gap in our governance and will continue to sit on the Authority in the future.”

There will now be 16 Members of the BTPA, the independent oversight body responsible for ensuring an efficient and effective police force. The Authority is made up of a Chair, Deputy Chair and Authority Members, supported by an executive team who manage finance, strategy, governance, performance and secretariat along with holding the Chief Constable to account.

BTPA is responsible for Chief Officer appointments, setting the budget and charging the costs of railway policing out to the rail industry and service users. BTPA ensures that industry priorities are reflected in the operational planning and service delivery of BTP and coordinates misconduct hearings and complaint reviews.